List of all Chief Guests on Indian Republic Day Parades (1950–2021) PDF

List of all Chief Guests on Indian Republic Day Parades (1950–2021) PDF

Ministry of External Affairs announced on January 14, 2021 that there will be no foreign leader as a chief guest for the celebrations of Republic Day this year because of the global situation arising out of the COVID-19 pandemic. This will be for the first time in over five decades that the country will not have a Chief Guest at the Republic Day parade.

Some Important and Interesting Facts about Republic Day of India

British Prime Minister Boris Johnson was supposed to be the Chief Guest at the 2021 Republic Day. The UK Foreign Office released a statement that the decision to cancel the visit was taken in view of the COVID-19 pandemic that has escalated in the United Kingdom because of the new strain of the coronavirus.

Initial four Republic day parades were held at different places (Red Fort, Ramlila Grounds, Irwin Stadium, Kingsway) between 1950 to 1954. But the first celebration was held at Rajpath in 1955.

The Indonesian President Sukarno was the first Chief guest on the very first Republic Day parade of India. Representatives from the United Kingdom and France have been invited 5 times each.

Rpublic Day Parade

How the chief guest is chosen in India’s Republic Day?

The Chief Guest is given the ceremonial guard of honour at Rashtrapati Bhavan, he attends the reception in the evening hosted by the President of India, he lays a wreath at Rajghat, there is a banquet in his honour, a lunch hosted by the Prime Minister, and calls by the Vice-President and the External Affairs Minister.

Six months prior to Republic Day, the Indian Government sends the invitation to either the Head of State or the foreign Government subjected to the kind of relationship India has with the concerned country.

Before sending the invitation, the approval of the Indian Prime Minister is sought in addition to the clearance from the President of India. 

Year Guest Name Country
1950 President Sukarno Indonesia
1951 King Tribhuvan Bir Bikram Shah  Nepal
1952 No invitation  —
1953 No invitation  —
1954 King Jigme Dorji Wangchuck Bhutan
1955 Governor-General Malik Ghulam Muhammad Pakistan
1956 (Two Guests) Chancellor of the Exchequer R. A. Butler

Chief Justice Kotaro Tanaka

 United Kingdom


1957 Minister of Defence Georgy Zhukov  Soviet Union
1958 Marshall Ye Jianying China
1959 Duke of Edinburgh Prince Philip  United Kingdom
1960 President Kliment Voroshilov USSR
1961 Queen Elizabeth II United Kingdom
1962 Prime Minister Viggo Kampmann  Denmark
1963 King Norodom Sihanouk Cambodia
1964 Chief of Defence Staff Lord Louis Mountbatten  United Kingdom
1965 Food and Agriculture Minister Rana Abdul Hamid Pakistan
1966 No invitation  No invitation
1967 King Mohammed Zahir Shah  Afghanistan
1968 (Two Guests) Prime Minister Alexei Kosygin USSR
President Josip Broz Tito SFR Yugoslavia
1969 Prime Minister of Bulgaria Todor Zhivkov Bulgaria
1970 King of the Belgians Baudouin  Belgium
1971 President Julius Nyerere Tanzania
1972 Prime Minister Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Mauritius
1973 President Mobutu Sese Seko Zaire
1974 (Two Guests) President Josip Broz Tito SFR Yugoslavia
Prime Minister Sirimavo Ratwatte Dias Bandaranaike Sri Lanka
1975 President Kenneth Kaunda Zambia
1976 Prime Minister Jacques Chirac France
1977 First Secretary Edward Gierek Poland
1978 President Patrick Hillery Ireland
1979 Prime Minister Malcolm Fraser Australia
1980 President Valéry Giscard d’Estaing France
1981 President José López Portillo Mexico
1982 King Juan Carlos I Spain
1983 President Shehu Shagari Nigeria
1984 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan
1985 President Raúl Alfonsín Argentina
1986 Prime Minister Andreas Papandreou Greece
1987 President Alan García Peru
1988 President Junius Jayewardene Sri Lanka
1989 General Secretary Nguyen Van Linh Viet Nam
1990 Prime Minister Anerood Jugnauth Mauritius
1991 President Maumoon Abdul Gayoom Maldives
1992 President Mário Soares Portugal
1993 Prime Minister John Major United Kingdom
1994 Prime Minister Goh Chok Tong Singapore
1995 President Nelson Mandela South Africa
1996 President Dr. Fernando Henrique Cardoso Brazil
1997 Prime Minister Basdeo Panday Trinidad and Tobago
1998 President Jacques Chirac France
1999 King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev Nepal
2000 President Olusegun Obasanjo Nigeria
2001 President Abdelaziz Bouteflika Algeria
2002 President Cassam Uteem Mauritius
2003 President Mohammed Khatami Iran
2004 President Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva Brazil
2005 King Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan
2006 King Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud[ Saudi Arabia
2007 President Vladimir Putin Russia
2008 President Nicolas Sarkozy France
2009 President Nursultan Nazarbayev Kazakhstan
2010 President Lee Myung Bak Republic of Korea
2011 President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono Indonesia
2012 Prime Minister Yingluck Shinawatra Thailand
2013 King of Bhutan Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck Bhutan
2014 Prime Minister Shinzo Abe Japan
2015 President Barack Obama United States
2016 President François Hollande France
2017 Crown Prince Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed United Arab Emirates
2018 (Ten Guests) Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah

Joko Widodo

Thongloun Sisoulith

Prime Minister Hun Sen

Najib Razak

President Htin Kyaw

Rodrigo Roa Duterte

Halimah Yacob

Prayuth Chan-ocha

Nguyễn Xuân Phúc











2019 President Cyril Ramaphosa South Africa
2020 President Jair Bolsonaro Brazil
2021 (No Chief Guest) Prime Minister Boris Johnson (cancelled his visit) United Kingdom

Pdf download

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *