(Latest List) States and Union Territory of India with their Capital PDF

(Latest List) States and Union Territory of India with their Capital & Official Language PDF

India, a union of states, is a Sovereign, Secular, Democratic Republic with a Parliamentary system of Government.

  • The President is the constitutional head of Executive of the Union. In the states, the Governor, as the representative of the President, is the head of Executive.
  • The system of government in states closely resembles that of the Union. After Jammu and Kashmir bifurcated into J&K and Ladakh, states becomes again 28 and 9 Union territories in the country.
  • Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. From the largest to the smallest, each State/UT of India has a unique demography, history and culture, dress, festivals, language etc.
  • This article introduces you to the various States/UTs in the Country and urges you to explore their magnificent uniqueness.
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu (DNHDD) is a union territory in western India. It was created through the merger of the former union territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu. Plans for the proposed merger were announced by the Government of India in July 2019 and the necessary legislation was passed in the Parliament of India in December 2019 and came into effect on 26 January 2020. So, Now number of union territory become 8 and states 28.

Jammu & Kashmir Bifurcation

Jammu and Kashmir reorganization bill passed by Rajya Sabha to bifurcate it into two union territories. One is Jammu Kashmir and other is Ladakh.

These two territories will not be same.

  • Jammu Kashmir with the legislature.
  • Ladakh without legislature

Union Territories without their own legislature

A UT, like Chandigarh, without legislator is not represented by elected representatives. It does not have chief minister. UTs without legislature send their representatives only to the Lok Sabha.

  • Chandigarh.
  • Dadra and Nagar Haveli.
  • Daman and Diu.
  • Lakshadweep.
  • Ladakh (proposed from 31 October 2019)
  • Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

Union Territories with their own legislature

A Union Territory with a legislature has its own assembly and elected MLAs.  UTs with their own Legislatures send representatives to the Rajya Sabha, besides the Lok Sabha. The final decision rests with Lieutenant Governor, appointed by the Centre. The Lieutenant Governors are appointed by the President. UTs with legislative assemblies have partial statehood.

  • Jammu & Kashmir (proposed from 31 October 2019)
  • Puducherry
  • National Capital of Territory of Delhi

Former Union Territories

  • Arunachal Pradesh (1972–1987)
  • Goa, Daman and Diu (1961–1987)
  • Himachal Pradesh (1956–1971)
  • Manipur (1956–1972)
  • Mizoram (1972–1987)
  • Nagaland (1957–1963)
  • Tripura (1956–1972)

States of India:

State Capital Language
Andhra Pradesh Amravati Telugu
Arunachal Pradesh Itanagar English
Assam Dispur Assamese
Bihar Patna Magadhi, Hindi
Chhattisgarh Raipur Chhattisgarhi, Hindi
Goa Panaji Konkani
Gujarat Gandhinagar Gujarati
Haryana Chandigarh Hindi,Haryanvi
Himachal Pradesh Shimla Hindi, Pahari
Jharkhand Ranchi Hindi
Karnataka Bengaluru Kannada
Kerala Thiruvananthapuram Malayalam
Madhya Pradesh Bhopal Hindi
Maharashtra Mumbai Marathi
Manipur Imphal Manipuri
Meghalaya Shilong English, Garo
Mizoram Aizawal Mizo
Nagaland Kohima English
Orissa Bhubaneswar Oriya
Punjab Chandigarh Punjabi
Rajasthan Jaipur Rajasthani
Sikkim Gangtok Nepali, Bhutia
Tamil Nadu Chennai Tamil
Telangana Hyderabad Telugu
Tripura Agartala Bengali,Tripuri
Uttar Pradesh Lucknow Hindi, urdu
Uttarakhand Dehradun Hindi, Sanskrit
West Bengal Kolkata Bengali, English

Union Territories of India

Union Territory Capital Language
Andaman and Nicobar Islands Port Blair English, Hindi
Chandigarh Chandigarh English, Hindi, Punjabi
Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu Daman English, Gujarati,Hindi, Marathi
Jammu & Kashmir Srinagar Urdu
Ladakh Leh Ladakhi, Urdu, Hindi
Lakshadweep Kavaratti English, Malayalam
Delhi- National Capital Territory Delhi English, Hindi, Punjabi, Urdu
Puducherry(Pondicherry) Pondicherry French, Tamil

Difference between State and Union Territory of India

State Union Territory
State has its own administrative units with their own elected government. Union Territories are constituent units which are controlled and administered by the Central Government.
The constitution head of the state is the governor. The President acts as the executive head for the UT.
Chief Ministers administer the states. An Administrator, appointed by the President administers the Union Territory.
A state also has its own Legislative Assembly and can form its own laws. There is a provision that allows the setting up of a Legislative Assemble in a Union Territory as is the case with Delhi and Puducherry.
States also have a federal mode of relationship with the Union Government, unlike the Union Territories. The powers in a state are distributed between the state and the union, while in a Union Territory, all powers are vested in the hands of the Union.
Large in Area Small in area as compare to States.
States possess autonomy. UT does not possess autonomy.

Thanks for visiting

Moon Facts and Information In English PDF Download – Physics

For always keep in touch with updates you can join or visit at facebook  or twitter.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *